Fitting issues

Started by Petruchio, February 29, 2020, 10:04:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Petruchio

In light of a recent topic in this forum on the absence of literature on shirt fitting and pattern alteration I was wondering if it is useful to make a thread where we discuss pattern manipulation on a more theoretical level.

This is of course a rather selfish proposal since I'm an absolute novice on these matters and would love to have informations on how to go about when fitting people. So far I tried to fit five friends of mine and with the help of this forum and the old CaT Forum I am under the impression that I really progressed. But still, I lack a basic understandig of pattern manipulation. I, of course, know that all bodies are different and any general discussion on the topic might have serious limitations but I think it would be helpful to a lot of people to have some kind of general guidelines on how to alter a pattern.

Case in point: I have two people with forward rolling shoulders and swayback posture. Both of them have major balance issues and the front is way too short (up to 6cm). Now - one of the major issues was, that the neckhole of the modern rundschau draft was way off. So the question is: How to you fix rounded shoulders and do forward rounded shoulders affect the neckhole and how do you fix that.

I hope this isn't a stupid idea, but I really would love to learn this stuff on a more general level.

posaune

No, the idea is very good. But................................
It is so that the statement "forward shoulder and sway back and neckhole does not fit" - is clearly not enough to prescribe an alteration for it.
Doing something like this requieres - for me - pics. Front - back - side. On it whole body with a comparison plumb line....... yaddah yaddah.