Is there a way to fix a thread that snagged and pulled?

Started by Tikiguayo, July 19, 2020, 11:14:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

spookietoo

Hendrick- I have addressed all female groups only and mixed groups of people thru out most of my life as, "Okay guys" or "Hey guys". Being born and raised in Tennessee, I always enjoyed receiving that form of address myself - ANYTHING other than, "Hey, y'all".

I have suffered immensely throughout my life as a direct result of ignorant, redneck misogyny. It has cost me a literal lifetime fortune.  Wasting time correcting minor verbiage has been occurring for more than 40 years and has been proven useless. I personally don't care if a mailman or a mail person delivers my mail, so long as it is delivered correctly. "I'm a salesman for xyz company" has come out of my own mouth on more than one occasion.

Now, because of so much ignorant, farcical "politically correct" crap, as a white, middle aged woman I am mandated to never speak up in any way to anyone. Usage of my intelligence is viciously abused and ridiculed if I dare open my mouth in public. I cannot tell the prissy blond model-wannabe at the supermarket to put her mask over her nose and mouth as she looks like shit with it hanging under her chin anyway. Nor do I dare discuss my interest in learning about people from other places as to acknowledge that a person speaks in a different way is confirmation of my own "ignorant, prejudiced 'white privilege' ". Either way, I am guaranteed to be viciously abused with the excessively prejudiced label of "Karen".

God! Do I feel for ANY woman named Karen!