The American Garment Cutter edition 3

Started by Chicks, July 31, 2024, 03:47:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chicks

Hello everyone.

Has anyone had success in using the american garment cutter edition 3 in drafting a single- breasted overcoat? Im new to drafting and i was attempting to draft an overcoat using diagram 56. I'm drafting the pattern based on the measurements given to get a feel for it, before using my own measurements. I started to run into a problem when measuring points A to 8 and A to 10. which measurements are respectively 6 3/8 inches and 1/6 of breast which is 6 inches (36/6) it did not seem to "match" figure 56 as it appears that A to 10 is half of A to 8 in the diagram. I believe i will continue to run into this problem as i continue to draft this pattern.

Perhaps im missing something that may be common knowledge to those who have experience drafting using this book. Could someone please advise? Im including the instructions and diagram as a reference. Thank you.

SO_tailor

I haven't personally used that draft but there are some things you should be aware of.
The drafts pre-1930's tended to have a smaller half back (which in turn led to a smaller shoulder) as most people back then weren't as tall. So when you are doing this draft make sure to make the half back just a little wider to make the shoulders wider (of course you could also make the shoulders and back wider with the armhole inlays but it's juts more convinent). So if you want a more broader shoulder it would be very easy to add by simply increasing the back width (though make sure to only widen it on A-E to not interfere with the front scye)
—Solomon/Sol

Chicks

TTailor

1/6 breast means 1/6 breast on the square.
On the square refers to the tailors square which is marked out in increments based on half of the circumference for drafting.
If the chest is 36 inches, you divide in half so that's 18 inches, and find 1/6 of 18 which is three inches

Chicks