Wool double cloth

Started by Philipdep, November 17, 2022, 04:38:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Philipdep

Hi all! As it's getting to be quite cold in my part of the world, I'm wanting to make an overcoat, but I'm still searching for fabric. I found some nice double cloth. I've never worked with double cloth before and I'm not sure if it's any different from working with a regular coating cloth. I know it's essentially two cloths that have been woven/stitched, but is it suitable for tailoring purposes, or should I avoid it? Is there a warm alternative? Thanks!

pfaff260

posaune

If for a real good wintercoat - i would not use double cloth. It is way heavy and a pain to work with. But a nice experience in tailoring! Much hand sewing.
I, more on the practical side of live-  would take a nice wool with a good drape (merino, cachmire or else - good quality) and put a layer of thinsulate inside- which stops the wind and rain.
lg
posaune

peterle

The method used in the linked project is undoubtely the most beautiful method.
But Not all Double face fabrics can be seperated.
The typical duffles ( plain outer fabrics, checkered inner fabrics) are very offen unlined or just half lined ( for a better glide) and the seams are edged with satin or lining strips.

Philipdep

Thank you all for the info! Perhaps this is a silly question, but can double cloth be made up like a regular overcoat with chest piece and separate facing, or is it too bulky?

peterle

I would say it depends on your fabric and the coat you have in mind. I think the issues are is less the chestpiece than details like (welted) pockets, darts ecc.

Hendrick