Valentina and computer drafting systems

Started by TTailor, January 19, 2021, 12:35:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TTailor

I have been making patterns by hand for more than 30 years now.

I like to draw and I get a lot of satisfaction from manual pattern making and I enjoy the flexibility of "thinking" with paper.

I have never before attempted to use any kind of computerized system for pattern-making. However during the past 10 months of interruption of normal life, I have been trying out new things and one of them has been to find and learn to use the computer to draft patterns.

I don't think that this will replace manual drafting for me, but may be useful in some way, some day.

I have downloaded Valentina, and have set out to learn how to use it.
Perhaps if others here have experience or are interested in this topic we can explore it together.

If you do use a program for drafting, which system do you know and what are its good points and what is it lacking?
https://valentinaproject.bitbucket.io/

Steelmillal

I've been doing3D CAD for 20 years, but not for this field. I'm very interested in orbiting on the periphery of the discussion so I don't overwhelm the topic with geek math, but can say using CAD makes sense, iff payback happens and, most importantly, classic manual skills don't suffer. Also, I agree the satisfaction that comes with drawing with pencils, or whatever, feeds the creative spirit much better than computer keyboard strokes, etc...

TTailor

Cost certainly is a factor, and for me, an open source platform makes sense as I am learning with no particular end point in mind.

Looking forward to any and all input.
I can already say that I am slightly frustrated by the process being less spontaneous than what I am used to.

If I want to put in a notch or balance mark, I have to learn a seemingly complicated process when manually it is so simple.