Is sleeve cap ease necessary without a raised head?

Started by retroreason, April 14, 2020, 01:59:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

retroreason

I'm very new to this, and I'm Struggling to understand the concept of sleeve cap ease. It makes sense to me that, if you have a raised sleeve head you would need the extra material to create that shape. if I just want a set in sleeve that falls straight from the seam, is there any reason to draft in cap ease? I know its possible, what i want to know is the reasons for or against sleeve cap ease.

I'm going off of early 20th century workwear, working with heavyweight denim, so the ease-ability is very low. some of the drafts I've attempted have an impossible amount of ease for the material.

Schneiderfrei

Any of the sleeves I have drafted, already have ease calculated for the particular scye to which they were intended to be joined.

Can you give a more specific example of a draft that has given you problems?

Also, are you thinking here of men's or womens garments?
Schneider sind auch Leute

retroreason

men's garments, this draft in particular. i drafted the one piece sleeve, and the two piece a few pages before it, both came out virtually the same.
https://archive.org/details/draftingcottonga00simo/page/12/mode/2up

In contrast I've completed muller & sohn denim jacket draft where it instructs you to slash the sleeve and remove any ease.

just trying to fully understand what makes the design work, and why things are done the way they are.

Schneiderfrei

Ok,

So all of the drafts you mention are for cotton garments.  They differ from wool since there is much less possibility to ease extra cloth into the seam when sewing up. In the same way cotton is not able to be shaped with the iron to stretch or shrink the cloth. The drafts in the book on cotton garments have taken this into account and the pieces are shaped differently to a jacket for wool.

You may know the following: