Trousers draft suggestions for beginner?

Started by Lindylou500, March 21, 2020, 09:19:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lindylou500

Hello! I'm very experienced in sewing techniques but still have a lot to learn about fitting and pattern making. I'm now learning to draft trousers for one of my sons and have tried two different drafts so far. I'm now following one from Gareth Kershaw's book, though I can't resist adding in bits from other drafts, like Aldrich and Donn McCunn This is probably not the best thing to do!

I'm enjoying the process of drafting a lot and am on a very steep learning curve. I love these forums and reading about tailors, old and more recent!

Can anyone suggest a good draft for me to try? My son is 25, modern and  likes things like the latest, "balloon" trousers, as well as classic pleat fronted trousers. I'm amazed how many different drafts there are, and as a beginner I can't always see the difference or visualise the finished result. I read about the German tailor system and people like Mansie Wauch and would like to try them but can't find my way through the myriad of information to find a basic draft. Probably just me- I'm very low tech!

How do you go about picking a draft that is appropriate for the type and style of trousers you want? Grateful for any advice,
Regards,
Linda

Schneiderfrei

Schneider sind auch Leute

Thom Bennett

The thing with drafts they basically do the same job put the fitting points in the correct place, the styling takes place after that and is what a lot of tailors call "rock o' eye". If you want a pleated ballon trouser I would use my basic drafting system (I use Rory Duffy's Imperial System for my Trousers) and adjust it for pleats followed by styling. If you look at the way Kershaw works he first develops his block (he calls a frame) which gives you the basic fitting points. the following two pages he discusses how, from this "frame" to develop the front and backsides of a pleated trouser.