Building a cutting table

Started by Petruchio, February 09, 2020, 08:20:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Petruchio

So I'm planning on building my own cutting table and would love to have some input from the community. Currently I'm only making shirts, but I plan on giving trousermaking a try in the future. I'm cutting mostly with siccors and sometimes with a rotary cutter on a mat.
Due to the limited space I have, I was thinking about a 100 cm high, 95-100cm wide and 2m long table, which unfortunately is accessible only from one side. I have of course never worked in a professional environment so I have no idea on what materials to use, the best dimensions, construction ect.

best regards,

Thomas

TTailor

This is my set up. I doubt many people have or need anything like it, so I am interested in other people's set up.
I do this for a living. And I rent a space for my set up. My house is much too small for it.

I have a four foot by eight foot industrial steel frame table with a lower shelf of 4x8' 3/4" plywood.
The top is a plywood base with a framed edge. In the centre is a layer of tentest with a layer of cork on top of that. I used to cover the whole thing with paper but most recently I have covered it with vinyl. I used to have an extension piece piano hinged to the long edge so I could make the table 60" wide which allows cutting single ply wide fabric.
The cork top used to need varnishing regularly, which is why it is covered now.
The cork top allows me to use steel push pins to hold fabric and patterns in place.

The whole thing is very heavy but it comes apart for moving. The top is especially heavy though.

You might consider the width of the fabrics you use when planning your table. If you will use 60" (150cm) wide fabric folded in half, the table should be 30" wide.
There is nothing worse than having the fabric hang over the edge, it pulls the fabric on the table and. You would have to keep shifting the fabric to lay anything out.

Petruchio