Professional development?

Started by Futura, April 08, 2019, 01:38:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Futura

(This might be an odd question, so please bear with me! ;D )

Where would an aspiring individual source willing people to use for practice drafting and fitting garments on? I would eventually like to make bespoke women's casual clothing, but I know I need much more experience fitting other bodies, amongst further practice.

I moved about a year ago, and now I don't really know anyone in the area aside from a few family members. (I'm also terrible at socializing!) How do professionals gain experience with this independently, outside of any formal training or apprenticeships? Should there be any compensation involved for the cost of time and materials? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. :)

supercilious

Although I am no professional, I've found that young women really love to be involved with people aspiring to make clothes. I'm not the greatest looking guy in the world either haha.
I would say as long as your earnest and even just meet a handful of people you're already in luck, McQueen used to make clothes for his aunts. As I'm learning too, I normally have no problems giving away clothes in order to keep working with people...

Also, part of me thinks that half of learning to become a good clothes maker involves understanding people and realizing that what matters isn't the clothes, but the people who wear them...

posaune

There are neigbohrs, family members and friends of family members, shop keepers, rural journals, just let it known.  As Testpersons I wouldn't charge them anything. Because fitting could get quickly real boring and tireing if you are not interested in that stuff. 
Maybe in some of the internet sewing community you'll find persons near you  - who are willing to do this and in the process they learn too. So giving and taking.
lg
posaune

Dunc