How to amend measurements in Tailor's pattern drafting

Started by Spongebob100000, November 28, 2023, 01:16:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Spongebob100000

Hi All

Newbie here so hopefully I'm not repeating queries already answered.

I have some background in pattern drafting (costume studies 20 years ago) but taking the plunge into learning to draft my own tailors patterns (currently looking at A S Brigland for example, and also Rory Duffys method).

I feel a little overwhelmed trying to understand how to apply my own specific measurements - for example, are there 'rules' of how to apply the waist measurement across the 3 pattern pieces and correct length/ suppression to specific areas? The drafting instructions explain how do do so with the default measurements but not how to account for other sizes?

For example, if the book uses a 26 inch waist, and allocates 5 inches (after deduction of seam allowances) to the centre back panel, that equates to nearly 40% of 13 inches (I.e. half the waist measurent).
Would I therefore allocate 40% of my own specific waist measurement plus seam allowances? Or is that not how it is amended?

Is there a book on this/learning material? Many thanks

TTailor

When applying personal measurements to a standard draft you really do have to assess how proportionally different your measures are to the standard being used.

Measurements are not shape either, so distributing waist suppression for instance has to be where the shape of the body needs it, not necessarily in the same location or amount as the standard.

You might want to check out the German drafting systems which tend to go into much more detail and have different drafts for different figurations.

DrLang