Fitting issue on a jacket

Started by EnzoDuroy, October 08, 2023, 09:51:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

EnzoDuroy

Hello everyone,

It has been a long time since I haven't been with you, I hope you've had a great summer.
I am currently working on a jacket (it's my first try with this draft), but I have some fitting issues and problems I'm unable to solve. I hope you will have more ideas than me to handle the problems.

Here are the pictures from this morning fitting :

I put for each pictures in red the wrinkles I would like to solve. The other in blue are probably just a problem of a waist a bit too tight, according to "Classic tailoring techniques" by Cabrera, so there is no big difficulties for the blue wrinkles.

In the first place, I believed that the red wrinkles were produced by a pattern to loose above the waist according to Cabrera's book :

So I made the above waist a bit closer to the body, it solves a part of the wrinkles, but now it's truly close to my body and there is some that survived to this first hypothesis of solution, so I am a bit Baffled and I don't know how to do to solve the problem.

If you have any ideas regarding pattern adjustment or iron work to find a better fit, I would be very happy to know !

Thank you very much,

Enzo

Steelmillal

It looks like a woman's coat draft. It's too tight. Maybe save for a vest.

Start again with a different men's draft and a muslin. https://movsd.com/BespokeCutter/index.php?topic=118.0 Leave some breathing room(ease).

Schneiderfrei

Will you show the draft please? It will help with suggestions.

I agree with Steelmillal that it is too tight, especially around the waist.

Contrary to your thought that the diagonal folds mean that its too loose above the waist, that might be true if the waist was sufficient. The folds point, literally to where the tightness lies, the front waist. You cant let out the waist at the front, you will need to let out the whole side.