Stumped on 1911 Trouser pattern

Started by LonoftheNB, February 17, 2022, 05:49:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LonoftheNB

I'm extremely new to flat pattern drafting and I've been trying to follow the instructions in the book Short Methods Cutting, Designing and Manufacturing men's clothing from The Charles Publishing Co. and I started out doing alright but, now I'm stuck with finding I and determining the curve for hip/waist on the forepart.
The instruction says A to I is 1-12or42 seat, and I to K is 1/2 waist

I'm not really sure of what I'm supposed to do there to determine I

I had originally started with a pattern from the book New Standard Trousers and Breeches systems from 1908 since I wanted to do something in around late 1890s but, I got stuck with that in a similar spot since I didn't have the tool and trying to math my way through didn't work so well.

I would try to get this by referencing actual fitting pants but, I don't own anything that could help with this.

I'd appreciate any advice that could help me get this draft to mock up phase. Thank you

Gerry

Perhaps it's a misprint? Possibly it should read J to I = 1/12th of seat. I - K would be 1/4 of the waist (not one half), because we're dealing with a single panel (four in total and the waist circumference is divided equally between them).

LonoftheNB

TSjursen

You square out from the big stylised A to find the line along which you place I and K. When you have the line simply measure out 1/12 (half) seat to find I, then from here on 1/2 (half) waist.

TTailor

Remember that these old drafts use the tailor’s square,  so 1/2 of whatever measurement indicated so a 42 inch hip means using 21 on the square.
If you are manually calculating it is 1/12 of 21 or 1/2 of half the waist measurement

LonoftheNB

Thank y'all for the incredibly helpful advice. I have something I think is workable for the first mock-up. I'm starting the back part today applying what I've learned.