Deriving Patterns from First Principles

Started by DengLinPiano, July 12, 2021, 07:00:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DengLinPiano

Are there any resources available on how to derive the pattern of a piece of clothing from its original concept? How do I learn the rationale behind each step of a draft? Right now, it feels like I'm just mindlessly following instructions. Something that provides a commentary for each step of a draft for a suit jacket would be nice.

Thanks,

From a complete beginner. 

Schneiderfrei

How far back do you want to go DengLinPiano?

Which drafts have you attempted?

It is true that the draft is simply an algorithm, but finding background on particular draft systems can be difficut.

There is a historical perspective to consider overall.

you might try this, it has a reasonable explanation of the draft.  It was published in the early 70's

https://movsd.com/BespokeCutter/index.php?topic=508

There are some very alterative approaches in the wider literature as well.

G
Schneider sind auch Leute

Gerry

When I was first learning to cut, I felt the same frustration. The most intuitive book on the subject that I know of is Don McCunn's How to Make Sewing Patterns. It's not comprehensive, and doesn't include all the tricks that tailors use, but it's a good foundation; and (for me) it made those more obscure books on cutting easier to comprehend.

At some point, though, those old, cryptic books do need to be studied. They contain a wealth of information that is mostly missing from modern publications.

LindyBalboa

I am no pro and I don't have a specific resource in mind, but I can tell you how I am currently thinking of trouser patternmaking. There are a few critical measurements, and the rest is just growing out from those points.

The most important measures in a trouser draft, as far as I view them, are:

• The hip circumference
  • The hip height from floor
  • the distance of the front grainline to CF at hip height